City Garden

The entire time I’ve been here in Oklahoma City, I haven’t ventured far from home too often but only because I’m hopeful that I will be returning later this month on a permanent basis. There is truly a lot to see here and I like to think I will have all the time in the world once July comes to a close.

Anyway, I often pass by this gated city park on my way down 36th Street to May Avenue. Even from the outside, one can see the meticulous landscaping and grounds work that is put into the place. This is Will Rogers Park, by the way, and it’s on the National Registry of Historic Places. There is a building for garden exhibitions, a single one used as a tennis training center, an outdoor playground, and even a community pool and splash park. But the signs that caught my attention a few weeks ago were those directing visitors to the arboretum and the rose garden. Last week, I finally decided to take a walk inside the gates.

Some of the places I saw in this park reminded me of a real-life version of Disney’s Alice in Wonderland, but only those parts of the film when Alice and her sister are supposed to be reading lessons under the shade of a tree. Instead of swans, though, there were geese and Dinah wasn’t there, either. However, I do recall Alice talking about how much she enjoyed books that were filled only with pictures.

 IMGP4120

IMGP4148

lavender

IMGP4124

IMGP4132

IMGP4123

IMGP4118

IMGP4114

IMGP4137

IMGP4134
You can see all of the photos I took while visiting the gardens by clicking here.

About Dena

I'm an Oklahoman by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, the Deep South, and the American narrative.
This entry was posted in adventuring, community, flora and fauna, flowers, gardening, nature, Oklahoma City, outdoors, photography, trees and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to City Garden

  1. surmalldvr says:

    Oh , it’s so beautiful, i wish i were there .

Leave a Reply

