Kinda makes me wanna go talk to some trees…

I forgot to take a book to work with me this morning.  That rarely happens.  So you can imagine that once I realized I was bookless, I kind of stood there, frozen…dumblike, uh…what do people do at lunch when they don’t have a book to read?

Thankfully, it’s that time of year when books are being handed to some of us at work as…well, a job to do. 

“Read it.  Tell me what you think.  What you like, what you don’t like.  Age-appropriate?  Just give me your opinion…”

Yeah, okay.  Twist my arm!!  But I start up my college classes again next Monday and, quite frankly, I wasn’t too thrilled with posibly being assigned a book written for 4th-6th grade students. 

Wow.  I’m so happy I forgot my book from home today.  This is the book from my office that I ended up reading during lunch. 

” There is nothing lonelier than a cat who has been loved, at least for a while, and then abandoned on the side of the road.  A small calico cat.  Her family, the one she lived with, has left her in this old and forgotten forest, this forest where the rain is soaking into her soft fur”

“Trees are the keepers of stories.  If you could understand the languages of oak and elm and tallow, they might tell you about another storm, an earlier one, twenty-five years ago to be exact, a storm that barreled across the sky, filling up the streams and bayous, how it dipped and charged, rushed through the boughs.”

“This tree, a thousand years old, huge and wide, straight and true, would say how it lifted its branches and welcomed the heavy rain, how it shivered as the cool water ran down its trunk and washed the dust from its long needles.  How it sighed in that coolness.”

And I’d like to mention again that this is a children’s book.  See, kids don’t have to ready horrible fluff books.  I’m always afraid of coming off as dramatic or, god forbid, overly dramatic when I try to describe a book to someone.  I don’t think that’s even necessary this time.  The words flow like poetry.  Those passages up there are just from the first three pages.

The first three pages, people.  The. First. Three. Pages.

Every animal lover should read this.  Or try to read this because it is heartbreaking.  There’s the cycle of abuse from human to animal, the loyalty of animals for each other, the emotional lives of cats and dogs…tuggin’ on some heartstrings, hmmm???

National Book Award finalist.  Newberry Honor Book.  I really hope I can finish it before they make me turn it back in.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kinda makes me wanna go talk to some trees…

  1. Kristi says:

    Yes, hurry up! Meeee next! It was a hard decision to give you that one instead of the other one (although it was also good – made me cry).

Leave a Reply

