our nest

My cat has been hanging around alot on the porch, staring upward at the swinging plant holder above her head…

waiting…

waiting…

waiting…

one of ’em is gonna fall out soon.

(click here to see the video – for some reason, I can’t get it to upload)

Did you see them?  These babies were strangely quiet when I popped my little camera’s face into their nest.  Any other time I click my tongue, they peep like mad.  But we needed to know how many were in the nest just in case Polly actually gets her mouth around one of them during flying lessons, mama-bird-kicks-them-out lessons, or whoops-baby-fell-over-the-edge lessons.   Sadly, we’ve seen it happen before and it could very well happen again.

A few years ago, in the same hanging plant, a family of birds nested and had their babies.  At times my mother and I, and even Elle,  would have to sit on the porch and clap our hands, almost bang them together, just to get the babies to peep because their parents were constantly getting lost!  Seriously, the mom and dad would fly around with food or twigs in their mouths and land inside the wrong nesting plant, then fly around in a panic, squawking terribly, and freak the hell out when their babies were nowhere to be found OMG!  So in the late afternoon/early evenings, we’d all stand outside and smack our hands together to make the babies peep until their parents figured out they were checking the wrong nesting plant.  Stupid birds.

This current nest is tended to be a single parent (woot!).  I have high hopes for them.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

