The holiday curse strikes again

My mini-vacation with my best friend was perfect.  Why so perfect?  Here’s why:

Our Vilano Beach hotel pool

The Castillo de San Marcos National Monument

St. Augustine

Nikki and Elle met each other for the first time.  Their relationship had been confined to postcards and care packages in the mail for the past 8 years.  A good time was had by all…even though the kid came down with a cold on Day One.  My family introduced Nikki to a real seafood shack, the kind with pelicans hanging around and a cat on the front porch.  And ranch dressing.  Lots of ranch dressing.

After a round of karaoke Friday night we headed to St. Augustine, one of my favorite cities in the country.  I would have more pictures for you, but about this time is when my camera decided to finally call it quits.  Thank goodness Nikki is a photographer. 

And here’s when things started going downhill.  After dropping Nikki off on Memorial Day at 5:15am for her flight home toMilwaukee, I decided to take Elle to Solantic Urgent Care for her ear pain.  Sure enough, if it’s a holiday this kid is bound to be sick with something. 

The next 10 days of our lives will revolve around two daily chewable tablets of amoxicillin.  By the look on Elle’s face, I believe she’d rather eat the dirt off the ground of a landfill.  In order to help her cope with the taste, I give her a gummy worm to help get the chalky crap out of the crevices of her molars.  I’m a genius, I know.  And it makes my kid like me again after forcing her to gnaw on those nasty pills every morning and night.

Oh, but wait.  THERE’S MORE!

We had to return to Solantic Urgent Care 6 hours later because Elle decided to up the ante, to challenge fate, to take on two ailments at once in her attempt to be free of sickness on the 4th of July (seriously, the stomach flu on Thanksgiving and Easter?)  Can’t this kid get a break?  Heh.  Good one.  I didn’t mean like this!  Two fractures in the same bone 12 days before our trip to Epcot.

Needless to say, there will be no trip to Epcot.  At least not for awhile.

Elle’s okay with that, though, and seems to enjoy lapping up the attention at school.  Except she’s having trouble with some kids who laugh at her when she tells them the truth about what really happened to her arm.

E: “I told them the truth.  I told them that I bammed into Papa’s car with my bike.”

Me: “Then lie to ’em.  Make it a good lie, too.  Make it something everyone can laugh about, including yourself.”

E: “Like what?”

Me: “Tell ’em you were wrestling with a polar bear!  Or tell them you saved an old woman crossing the street from an oncoming speeding vehicle!  Okay…so let’s practice.  (In my best kid voice) ~~ ‘Elle, what did you do to your arm?'”

E: “I was fighting with a grain of rice.  Grrrr!!!”

Me: “Uh…okay.”

P.S. Nikki – we love you.  We miss you.  YA DER HEY!!!  Oh, and a wintergreen Tic-Tac came flying out of Elle’s nose a few days ago.  This might explain some of the sinus congestion she had during vacation.  Good to know Tic-Tac-Itis isn’t contagious. 

(Believe me, I tried to find some rational explanation for the Tic-Tac, but some thing are better left unexplained.)

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The holiday curse strikes again

  1. Pingback: My obligatory Thanksgiving post « Two Girls and a Road

Leave a Reply

