Marshland

Every now and then, I see something that makes me stop whatever I’m doing and just look.  This is one of those things (taken yesterday):

The heron stood there for a good 5 minutes while I kept an eye on him.  He’d been there, just like that, when I walked outside and probably stayed there, just like that, long after I walked back inside.  The heron was back this afternoon in the same spot. 

That’s a popular tree.  Mama Goose had some babies under that tree a few months ago.  Our deck area at work is also home to one gator, a family of ducks, an egret, a stray black and white kitty, and countless turtles.  My peanut butter & jelly sandwich crusts are a big hit at lunchtime, especially with the turtles.

Another stop and look moment. See this little guy?.  He’s jonesin’ for some pb&j. 

I decided to share my pb&j with the turtles last week when the gator wasn’t looking but my plan totally backfired.  The gator whipped around, hustled over to the slope, and started snapping at all the turtles with breadcrusts in their mouths.  Contrary to all the stories I have ever been told about turtles, they are certainly not slow when being snapped at by a gator.

Oh, and a bonus.  When’s the last time you saw a picture of a pelican not covered in oil? And, again, the obligatory turtle (who seems to think he is Superman). 

I saw these guys when I took Elle to the Jacksonville Zoo and Gardens a few weekends ago.  Granted they probably don’t eat pb&j, but it’s the zoo.  They’re dining on some french fries and corn dogs.  Classy.

I love the outside.  We should all spend more time there.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Marshland

  1. Chris says:

    Just squirt the gator with a squirt bottle and he’ll stop biting the turtles. Wait….that’s cats and curtains. Nevermind.

Leave a Reply

