Day 2 (Virginia is declared the most beautiful place in the world)

What a treat – Elle called me at work, if only to tell me about the truck on the highway stuffed full of little piggies on their way to the market…or the farm.  I’d like to think they were going to a farm.   As far as Elle knows, the pigs are at the farm right now, livin’ high on the hog (ha! PUNS!). 

Gaaaaawwwd, I’m bored.

For some strange reason, I was instructed by the Nana to call back at 7pm.  So I did.

Her: “Hi, Mommy! I really believe that Virginia is the most beautiful place in the whole wide world!  Every place should look like Virginia!!!”

Me: “Elle, you’re crazy.  It snows there, you know.”

Her: “But they have Amish people.  I saw three Amish buggies, two grownups, and a baby.  I saw an Amish baby!”

Me: “Oh, really?  That’s a pretty interesting way to live, isn’t it?”

Her: “Yeah.”

Me: “What else did you do today?”

Her:  “Well, Danielle (the 16-year old) is teaching me how to make a bracelet out of thread and she told me that the blueberry jelly stuff tasted really good on the crusty bread.  She was right.  That stuff is REALLY GOOD!”

(The “crusty bread” can only be some kind of Italian bread because Danielle’s family is Italian.  Or maybe they bought some Chicago hard rolls at the local Kroger.  I don’t know, but I’d like to pretend they’re feeding my child authentic Italian food.)

Me: “Blueberry jelly stuff?  Did Toni make that?”

Her: “No, we got it at the Farmer’s Market where I saw the Amish people.”

Me: “Wow.  So you’re having a good time!”

Her: “This is the best vacation EVER! In my whole life, Mom!  I love the country stuff here but I gotta go now because I’m having fun.  I love you.”

Me: “I love you, too, baby.  Goodnight.  Mwaah!”

Her: “Mwaaaah!”

I’m so excited for her but at the same time, I’m also a little sad that she’s enjoying this without me.  Not that she has to experience everything with me.  It’s just the first time that she’s really experienced something without me there, holding her hand to cross a never-before-traveled street or tucking her into a huge king-size bed in Savannah or Fayetteville before tucking myself into bed next to her and watching Spongebob Squarepants until we both fall asleep, exhausted.

I don’t really think she has any idea how wonderfully overwhelming Washington, D.C. is going to be.  So while Virginia is the most beautiful place in the world, for today, I can’t wait to hear what she thinks about our nation’s capitol. 

It’s official:  Elle is having a wonderful time so I’m going to try to chillax and enjoy my alone time, which is telling me to go ahead and eat that 3-day old brownie and watch House Hunters until The Real Housewives of D.C. comes on. 

I’d rather be eating Amish blueberry jelly in Virginia.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 2 (Virginia is declared the most beautiful place in the world)

  1. Chris says:

    Do Amish babies have beards?

Leave a Reply

