30-Day Song Challenge: Day 3

Day 3 – A Song That Makes You Happy: Iglu & Hartly’s In This City.

A song can change my mood but I won’t go so far as to claim a particular song will always make me happy.  That being said, this song definitely ups my downs and it brings to mind the first time my daughter ever went away on her very own vacation, without me or any other adult from home nagging her and telling her what to do.  She had the time of her life (which I believe is being knocked down to second-best vacation as of yesterday when she spent the day sightseeing in Washington, D.C.)

Elle and I agreed that a week in South Florida with my aunt and cousins’ kids was just the right introduction to her being away from me, and me away from her.  I met my aunt and uncle in Orlando, a halfway point for us both, and right before they pulled into the parking lot, this song came on the radio. 

For a week, Elle went swimming and played outside with kids her own age.  Some nights I would call to say hello to her only to be told she didn’t want to be interrupted from her playtime and Mommy, just call me back tomorrow night. Some nights I had to track her down at other aunts’/cousins’ homes where she was spending the night with other kids her own age. Elle was with my family, my mother’s brothers and sisters, and spending her summer vacation playing with her cousins. 

That will always be one of the happiest memories for us, especially for me.  I grew up moving all over the world and never really got the chance to get to know my cousins.  Now that we are all adults with kids of our own, there is no awkwardness.  We have kids in common and these kids have so much fun with each other. 

This song reminds me of my little girl growing up, summer vacations, and going home. It’s not the place that makes the home, it’s the people.  That’s the way it should be.

(Added bonus:  these guys are HOT!)

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

