30-Day Song Challenge: Day 10

Day 10: A Song That Makes You Elle Fall Asleep:  Frou Frou Foxes in Midsummer Fires by the Cocteau Twins.

This song doesn’t necessarily make me fall asleep (you’re talking about someone who has suffered bouts of insomnia for the better part of two decades), but it certainly makes me slow down and appreciate the sound of it.  It’s a beautiful song.

(As I write this, Elle is stretched out at the foot of my bed with her eyes closed and enjoying the music.  Time for some Cherry Coloured Funk before I send her off to bed.)

(Halfway through Cherry Coloured Funk, Elle declared she was super tired and asked me to tuck her into bed.  I’m honestly considering installing a sound system throughout the house and playing Cocteau Twins every evening one hour before bedtime.  It’s like magic!)

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

