30-Day Song Challenge: Day 13

Day 13: A Song That Is A Guilty Pleasure: Backstreet Boys’ I Want it That Way.

I must admit – I cannot not sing along to this song when it comes on the radio. Do I normally listen to the stations that carry this song?  No.  But I flip around alot and I’m always pleasantly surprised, and quite happy, when I hear this song. 

What?  Don’t act like you don’t know the words.  Go ahead. SING ALONG! You are probably just as into it as I am, you’re just afraid to admit it.  It’s okay…admit it.  Because your friends, who are just as into it as you are and afraid to admit it, will be relieved to know.

I’d bet the guys from Blink 182 even know the words, seeing as they spoofed parts of this video into their own video.  I love Blink 182.

 

A strange fact about me:  I’m into keep-the-beat handclapping.  Pep rally anthems, We Will Rock You playing at the stadiums, Passion Pit’s Sleepyhead…all great handclapping opportunities for me. And since Rogue Wave’s music (another great handclapping band) hasn’t caught on with the masses quite as well as the Backstreet Boys, this song will have to do.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

