30-Day Song Challenge: Day 19

(Let’s be honest here – I’m not posting to the 30-Day Song Challenge everyday because some days I’m just not in the mood to gush about music or how it made me feel for a moment in time or how, sometimes, I just want quiet in my head and in my life.  It’s been one of those weeks.)

Day 19: A Song From Your Favorite Album – Fallin’ by Teenage Fan Club & De La Soul.

Again, I can never call anything my absolute favorite but the soundtrack album to Judgment Night was probably one of the best soundtracks to ever come out.  Each song was a collaboration of musical genres and elevated to the 90s mainstream what Aerosmith and Run DMC managed to pull off in the 80s with Walk This Way

Run DMC was even featured on the soundtrack performing with Living Colour.  Other bands that partnered include Biohazard and Onyx, Sonic Youth and Cypress Hill, and Slayer and Ice-T. 

Most of the songs on the Judgment Night soundtrack revolved around drugs, murder, and other various criminal activities.  Fallin’ is a simple song that reflects on the highs and lows of life and successfully borrows from Tom Petty’s Free Fallin’ without making itself sound like a ridiculous attempt to get famous off of Tom Petty.  Because we all know Tom Petty would kick someone’s ass over it.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

