Autumn Movement ~ art & poetry

I’m so ready for fall. 

It’s hard to believe that in just a few weeks I’ll be shopping for Elle’s Halloween costume and taking her out to the pumpkin patch.  Soon the house will be cooled by fresh air blowing in through open windows, bringing with it the smell of burning woodpiles.  As much as I love the smell of fresh-cut grass in the summer, I love the scent of burning wood in the fall.

This summer has kind of been a bust.  There have been no real trips to the waterpark or days spent lounging at the beach, thanks to Elle’s broken arm and my body’s recent freakish reaction to the sun.  Last year, summer vacations were spent climbing Chimney Rock and walking the historically rich streets of Savannah.  This year, there were no summer vacations. 

Fall in North Florida moves in slowly and doesn’t stay for too long.  I can remember the first time I actually saw the fall colors in Florida.  My mother and I drove to Tallahassee to do some Christmas shopping and were both pleasantly surprised to find the trees along the highway in various stages of changing colors and losing their leaves.  I’ve only seen that change once here in Jacksonville.

I’m looking forward to baking a pumpkin cheesecake for the first time, making caramel apples with Elle, and leaving for work when it’s still dark outside.  Cold rain and early sunsets don’t bother me all that much, especially if it’s during a weekend and the only reason I have to leave the house is to get myself a white chocolate mocha from Starbucks.  Elle loves to drink hot chocolate before bedtime while we snuggle on the couch with our fuzzy socks on our feet to keep our toes warm. 

Yes, I’m so ready for fall.

(Elle’s sidewalk chalk Fall Tree.)

Autumn Movement by Carl Sandburg
I CRIED over beautiful things knowing no beautiful thing lasts.
The field of cornflower yellow is a scarf at the neck of the copper sunburned woman,
the mother of the year, the taker of seeds.
The northwest wind comes and the yellow is torn full of holes, new beautiful
things come in the first spit of snow on the northwest wind, and the old
things go, not one lasts.
About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Autumn Movement ~ art & poetry

  1. Chris says:

    Fall is one of my favorite things about living in East TN. This is my tenth one and I still cherish everything about it. It is such a gorgeous time of year and getting to actually experience a non-Florida “Fall” is a treat for me still.

Leave a Reply

