9

Elle turned 9 years old today.

NINE. YEARS. OLD.  Which means in another nine years, she’ll be eligible to vote, legally buy cigarettes, and strap herself down with the finest weapons available in our country’s Armed Forces.

(Note to Uncle Sam:  Keep in mind that this is the same kid who slammed her bicycle into a parked vehicle and managed to not only break her arm but to lodge the bike under the CRV in such a way that the car was actually lifted off of the ground.  Which is just my long-winded way of saying, “Her aim – it ain’t so good. Give her a weapon only when it’s necessary. And then duck.”)

But let’s get back to this whole NINE YEARS OLD bizazz…

Party #1: Hotel Party – no boozy punch like I had back in my hotel party heyday, but lots of fruit punch and 7Up to jazz up the refreshment table.  And cake.  CAAAAKE!!  It was awesome.  Need proof? 

Exhibit A:  CAAAAKE!!  See…

 

Exhibit B:  Oooh, fancy table decorations! (It was, after all, a hotel room that provided only the simple basics.  It was like trying to properly set a cake and all the plates and plasticware onto a tabletop that was approximately the size of a textbook.  The fancy stars garland just made it, well…fancier.  Hells to the yeah, I watch HGTV.)

Party #2:  Flash forward to tonight…

It went rather well.  Elle was dropped off by my fellow carpooling gymnastics mom and the family and I went straight to the little get-together.  Now that I think about it, I don’t believe I even made Elle wash her hands.  I was too distracted by The Donut Cake.  And more sparkly star things.  It was awesome.  Need proof?

Exhibit A:  DOOOONUUTTSSS!!!!  See…

 

Exhibit B: My cute kid!!  (This has nothing to do with sparkly things.  And my workable table space was much larger at home than the hotel’s but I also had less stuff to put on it.  Who needs plates and plasticware when you’re eating The Donut Cake?  It’s called Use your fingahs!!  Yep, the same little kiddie fingahs that just spent the last hour rolling on gymnastics mats covered in other kid’s…bleeeech, I’m making that thought go away.  RIGHT NOW!)

All in all, the kid had a great birthday.  And there are leftover donuts!

Happy Birthday, Elle.  I love you more than I love The Donut Cake.  Promise!

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 9

  1. Aunt Debby says:

    Dena, that was too good! I loved the cakes! That is such a sweet picture of Elle and look how grown up she is starting to look!
    Thanks for sharing this. What a good blog!

  2. DONUT CAKE. Seriously awesome.

Leave a Reply

