Five strange and (mostly) unknown facts about me

1. Whenever I’m listening to a song on the radio, I pretend I’m the singer. Sometimes I make up my own music videos in my head. I’ve been doing this since I was a kid. Same goes for gymnastics competitions. I have a few routines in my head if you’d like to use them, though I’m sure they’re not up to USA Gymnastics’ standards.

2. One of my biggest concerns is running out of deodorant. When I open a new one, I make a note on my grocery list to buy another one. I’m the same way with face powder. And floss. And orange juice.

3. I LOVE CORN. I cannot express how much I love that stuff. It doesn’t matter if it’s creamed, fried, grilled, popped, whole kernel, in bread, or on the cob. I’ll eat it. When I was about 3 years old, my parents had to take me to the hospital because I shoved my little hand into an open can of corn with the metal lid still hooked onto the top. If I had managed to pull out my fist with force, the metal lid would have cut up my arms and initiated a big, bloody mess. I survived another day to safely eat more corn.

unicorn-on-the-cob

4. Medicine, ugh. I’ve been on more medication this year than any other. If any of my doctors ever throw a prescription at me, I always ask if there is another way or another option, diet – exercise – yoga. Usually the answer is YES. Seriously. I’m not afraid to ask and I’m not afraid to complain about the way they shove pills down people’s throats. So, my tally of prescriptions this year adds up to 3. Yep, that’s all. Be proactive, question the doctors, and do the research for yourself. The doctors might not have the time to. That’s pretty sad.

5. I don’t like mountains. No, let’s rephrase that. I don’t like BEING in the mountains. And I don’t like being downtown, any city’s downtown, with high-rise buildings and monstrous landmarks. I’m clearly a flatlander who gets her kicks by driving up and down some lame hills in Marion County (central Florida’s horse country). It’s obviously another manifestation of my anxiety. I have to know what’s on the other side of things because I’m a controlling freak of nature like that. So, no…I’ll probably never visit NYC and that’s okay with me.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

