30-Day Song Challenge: Day 29

Day 29: A Song From Your Childhood – Lucia by Pupo.

I grew up in Italy.  My first memories are of my childhood in Italy.  I thought I was Italian until I was brought back to the States at the age of nine, driven to a Burger King, and forced to eat a cheeseburger and french fries like the tough-arteried American I am.  Pizza Huts, pet stores, and people who spoke English…like, all the time.  Not just when they wanted to barter with you and your gas-ration coupons in exchange for a very nicely built wicker hanging chair.  And maybe that there Strawberry Shortcake metal lunch box.  Yeah, that one. 

Grazie tanto!

Aaaah, Pupo.  I believe my mother kept my little 45 record of Pupo’s songs Lucia and Su Di Noi .  I used to rollerskate to these songs and they quickly became my favorites, alongside Lady Oscar and Star Blazers in Italian.  I hear Pupo has become somewhat of an icon in Italy now that he has been the host of numerous game shows in his home country.   

Lucia, Lucia un giorno ha detto io vado via
pensando “sara dura per me
ma qui non mi capisce nessuno”!!

E via e via, ha preso il primo treno e via
con il coraggio degli anni suoi
vincendo la sua malinconia

Refrain:
Era S.Valentino, ma che Valentino sa tanto l’amore non c’e!
Nella mente nel cuore se manca l’amore
e un giorno qualunque per te

Lucia, Lucia con qualche primavera di piu
perche sei ritornata quaggiu
con la valigia piena di sogni

Refrain:
Lucia, Lucia un altro treno parte e va via
decidi la tua vita e la tua
che tanto non ti ferma nessuno

Era S.Valentino di un giorno sereno, cantava la tua gioventu
Sei tornata un mattino a cercare il profumo
che non hai trovato laggiu

Lucia , Lucia…

Oh, heck – why not?  Here’s some Su Di Noi for your listening pleasure…

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

