The God Question

I believe in God.

I believe someone created all of this.  I believe someone has mapped my life for me but has left it for me to figure out.  I believe that when I’m talking to Him, He is listening.  I believe that I’m allowed to ask questions and not be punished by being sent to Hell.  I believe people are given second chances, if not by me than by Him. 

By that I mean that I believe people come back to live again, to try again, to be better people.  I’d hate to think that I was only given this one chance to get it right. 

I believe in the death penalty.  I believe in ghosts, angels, and miracles.  I believe in purposeful accidents and accidentally finding a purpose.  I believe it sometimes takes only a second to fall in love with a person.  I believe it sometimes takes a lifetime to learn compassion.  I believe in better late than never. I believe in everything happens for a reason.

I believe that God loves us all. 

Just because I disagree with some of what the bible says doesn’t mean I’m a non-believer.

I believe in open conversation and honesty.  I believe in moments of silence.  I believe in science but I still try to keep the faith.   I believe that each of us carries the ability to do evil.  I believe that most of us choose to do good.  I believe all of us are simply human, stumbling and grappling and blindly groping our way to the same destination. 

I am prepared to be told that I’ve got this whole “believing” thing all wrong.  You can’t change my mind just as I cannot change yours.  But Dena, many will say, you can’t just pick and choose certain things about religion that fit your lifestyle.  You have to make your lifestyle fit the religion.

I don’t believe that. 

I don’t believe that gays are to be shunned by society and excluded from God’s guidance through life.  I don’t believe that Muslims are a threat to our country.  I don’t believe in Hell.  I don’t believe in God’s wrath. I also don’t believe in prayer in public schools.  If this offends you, I’m sorry.  I am still learning, constantly changing, and relentlessly trying to make it all work, for me.  If you feel the need to tell me how wrong I am, then you’ve obviously figured it out, for yourself.  Give me the opportunity to do the same.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

