Festival

Kids find joy in simple things.  That’s why I like being around my kid.

Fall Festival was held at her school tonight and Elle’s so happy to just look around at everything, hug her friends, and score some cheap plastic loot from the prize buckets.

Which reminds me…we’re having a garage sale tomorrow.  Luckily she didn’t come home with too much stuff that could be considered crap we can sell. In fact, the one piece of crap (a cheap plastic puzzle) already broke. 

I walked around with her for awhile tonight but ultimately left her with her friend and her mom so I could take care of some shopping.  A few hours later I got a call letting me know that the other mom bought them each a hot dog and cotton candy.

“Oh, but Elle’s already had a cotton candy.  I bought her one when we got there.”

Time to slick the walls with Crisco lest this child starts climbing all over them while on her sugar high.

While Elle was with her friend at the Festival, I got sucked into a Law & Order: SVU marathon.  How nice that was – watching grown-up TV, all by myself…

Elle came home around 8:30 with one of those light-flashing rings (her friend had a light-flashing grill) and it reminded me of being followed by the cops (traffic infractions…that’s all, I swear).  I honestly expected her to be hanging upside down from the ceiling fan and swinging the poor dog around by his ears but she actually fell asleep on my lap within an hour.

I woke her up and told her to either sit up and watch TV or go to bed.  I was prepared to get her into her bed by dragging her against her will across the living room by her toes, but I didn’t have to.  She simply crawled off the couch, brushed her teeth, and crawled into bed.

Remember this little song?

We went to the Animal Fair

The big baboon was there

By the light of the moon, combing his auburn hair

The monkey, he got drunk

And fell on the elephant’s trunk

The elephant sneezed, went down to his knees

And that was the end of the mon-key!

 See my little monkey?

Look at her - she looks drunk on cotton candy!

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Festival

  1. Chris says:

    Didn’t she once get too much cotton candy with her grandmother and hurl? I seem to remember something like that but could be wrong.

    I’m glad you escaped the sugar high. Trevor’s friend spent the night last night and I swear they were on crack from 5:30 to 11:30 last night.

  2. Dena says:

    Thankfully, Elle has never hurled from too many sweets. But then again, Halloween is just around the corner and she can unwrap candy all by herself now.

    As far as your son goes, that is something I always try to avoid! LOL I’m the mom who has kids spend the night and I’m like, “What would you like to drink with dinner? Water…water…or milk?” I’m so boring!

Leave a Reply

