Halloween

This year I met Strawberry Shortcake, a shoeless vampire, and a very generous penguin who offered to give her candy away to the little ones at my house when she heard me announce that I was plum out. 

I’d like to thank that penguin’s mother for raising a decent…er, human being. 

Elle went out with a friend of hers, in a totally different but nearby neighborhood, so I didn’t get to enjoy any of her excitement.  Though I have decided that we are so hittin’ up that neighborhood next year because…daggone, she came home loaded to the brim with goodies.  As soon as she walked in the door, my family and I pounced on her like a pack of hyenas, all giggly and everything.

Whaddya get? Whaddya get? Whaddya get!?!  The bag of candy was dumped out onto the table and we all eyed the goods.  Elle got to keep ALL the lollipops, Reese’s cups, and gum.  Another pile consisting of Laffy Taffy and Gobstoppers went to work (because if anyone’s breaking a tooth on candy, I will not be the one to fork out the cash to fix the tooth…take it to work, employee cracks face, immediately NOT MY PROBLEM) while I took control of the Smarties.  ALL THE SMARTIES.  Because I love Smarties. 

I don’t know how anyone can not like Smarties.

Moving on…

Spider Web Ghost

It would have been alot more fun if you were Trick or Treating with me, Mom.

Isn’t she just the sweetest Spider Web Ghost in the world?  Next year, baby…next year.  I won’t miss out again.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Halloween

  1. Doug says:

    I love this. (sorry I couldn’t find the “like” button. 😉 )
    btw. M handed out candy for the first time in… Um… EVER! BUT!
    As I was scrounging through the kitchen for something, I saw, non-obtrusively and very, non-ubiquitously, packets of Smarties laying in her open purse.
    I asked about it and she said “I love Smarties”.
    Some ladies have something in common.

Leave a Reply

