Meet Jack Mikerson

The name's Mikerson. Jack Mikerson. I get splinters in my eyes so I have to wear protective goggles.

Jack is my father’s dog, a piebald dachshund.  Elle, when she was four years old, decided Jack needed a good, solid last name and she began yelling for him…Jaaaaaack Mikerson!  It has somehow stuck.

He entertains himself by throwing his own toys in the air and catching them or by rolling his ball down the steps and bringing it back to…himself.  Totally self-taught.  Jack also barks incessantly and suffers from a Napoleon Complex.  I’m sure other doxie owners would agree their dachshund pups suffer from this as well.  Our little guy has taken a shot at a very friendly American Bulldog inside of Petsmart.  After that, Jack was banned.  He’s a snuggler and loves to wake Elle up in the morning for school by jumping in her bed and wriggling around inside her covers.  This usually jolts her up pretty quickly since Jack has that little squirting problem, though in all these years he usually saves the best squirts for when he sees me. 

He likes me that much.   I guess puppy love and canine loyalty can be messy.

Ironically, Jack was advertised and sold as a mini dachshund but, as you can see in this video, he is anything but mini.

Oh, and yes – I called my daughter Ella, but that’s still not her real name. 

I will try to catch Jack on video another time racing around the house in a circle chasing nothing in particular.  It’s pretty flippin’ hilarious, especially when one of the cats attacks him from around the corner.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meet Jack Mikerson

  1. Debby says:

    That is too cute! Loved this!

Leave a Reply

