career day (unofficially)

Elle came to work with me today.

I can't believe you're actually calling me on the day before Winter break expecting me to do something! Ha!!!

I hate my job…I love the people I work with, but I hate my job. Elle, on the other hand, thinks it’s a fantastic job! (as per her lunchbox note from yesterday)

Today we hit up Starbucks before we headed into the office to slave away eat donuts, order chinese food, draw pictures of Palestinian flags and puppies wearing FAMU t-shirts, and dabble in a small bit of actual work.  No, really.  I did do some work.  But it’s the day before the university’s holiday break begins and there’s nobody around to actually give you any work to do.  There are no phone calls coming in, no orders being faxed in, no books to be ordered, no booklets to print and bind. 

I'll tell ya whose job it is to fill up the copier with paper!!!

Yeah, that there question got me into a little trouble last week.  Someone above me actually asked this question: “Whose job is it to fill up the copier with paper?”

I, being the secretary who is expected to have an answer for everything, responded with “Well, whoever is standing next to it when it runs out of paper.”

My logic was not appreciated, nor was my common sense.  I guess the only thing that is appreciated is my skillful ability to load the paper trays in the copiers.  I would teach others how to master this but, you know…

It’s job security. 

The office is now closed until January 3rd.  The only thing I’m loading for the next few weeks is my wine glass and the kid’s Christmas stocking.  Oh, and my facehole considering I just got a HOLY MOZZARELLA BALLS!!!!-sized gigantor shipment of this for Christmas from my bestie in Wisconsin:

Cheese curds and mozza whips!!!!

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to career day (unofficially)

  1. Chris says:

    Hilarious. Actually, your response about the copier is our official office policy.

    Same goes with refilling the bottled water in the fridge. You take one, replace one.

    Looks like she performed flawlessly today.

Leave a Reply

