A photographic celebration of one of the dumbest ideas I’ve ever had

It’s the day after Christmas and the East Coast is being battered by a severe snowstorm.  Would you believe it even snowed here in Jacksonville?  I missed it.  The kid missed it.  It happened sometime around 11:45-11:50 according to my Jax friends’ Facebook posts (one even caught a snapshot of her son with a snowflake on his head).  The National Weather Service issued a notice that the Northeast Florida would experience a sleet/rain/snow mixture sometime in the late morning.  Of course, I didn’t know about this until past noon.  Elle was so upset by it that I actually mapped out a route to Columbia, South Carolina and Statesboro, Georgia in hopes of catching a few flakes and flurries as the storm made its way through the South. 

That idea was scrapped when I mentioned taking a drive out to the beach to snap some photos on this cold, blustery day.  It was a sure shot that we would have the place to ourselves.  We gathered up our winter gear (here in Florida, that pretty much equals the warmest coat you have, a hat, and a pair of mitten/gloves that your friends from up North sent you because stuff like that is hard to find ’round these parts).  A hot chocolate from Starbucks was all the motivation we needed to brave the chilly 36 degree weather and the icy winds coming off the Atlantic Ocean.

What started out as a goodhearted attempt to make up for missing the flurryfest this morning ended up making us both sick.  Seriously.  Elle’s lying in the bed with a windchill-induced bellyache and I’m still trying to get the feeling back in eight of my toes and regain my sense of equilibrium.  I’m convinced that because our bodies are made up of mostly water, the  initial contact with the arctic blast at the beach made my eyeballs freeze into an abnormal position (causing dizziness) and my brain frosted over…much like the frost you find on the windshield of your car during the winter months. 

What the hell was I thinking?

Anyway, this experience has further assured me that I am a Floridian.  I’m not so sure Elle is in any hurry to see snow now that she’s aware of the weather conditions that make such a thing possible.  Yes, I know that not every snow flurry is surrounded by the awfulness of gusty winds and losing the feeling of your entire face due the stupidity of one’s mother, but the longer she thinks it is then the longer I can avoid having to suffer through that crap again.

The forecast for New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day? Feast your frozen eyeballs on this:

partlycloudy
Friday through New Years Day
Partly cloudy. Highs in the lower 70s. Lows in the lower 50s.

Hopefully, the feeling in my toes will have returned by then.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A photographic celebration of one of the dumbest ideas I’ve ever had

  1. Chris says:

    It has snowed here all day long.

    I used to like going to the beach during the fall/winter Nor’easters because it was like having my very own beach.

  2. Dena says:

    I thought that would be a good idea. We had to reschedule our trip to the movies tonight because we are still recovering. I need a t-shirt that says, “I AM A WIMP” and I’ll wear it proudly.

    I’ve seen some of the pics out of North Georgia and Rock Hill, SC – wow. Stay warm and safe, Chris! Hope you had a wonderful Christmas!

  3. Corey Frye says:

    Love the title of this one. I also love the line “brave the chilly 36 degree weather”. Having grown up in Maine we would’ve killed for 36 degrees on a winter day! But I get it, it’s all relative. Actually the winter in France is kicking my butt compared to the US version, not sure why.

  4. Dena says:

    In Florida, braving the weather means tackling anything below 65. Funny, I come from Michigan and I don’t remember being this uncomfortable. Being a kid in 8 feet of snow sure has its perks. Being an adult in 36 degree weather…not so much, except I can drive now. With the heater on.

Leave a Reply

