Change of plans

I’ve had a nice break from school since August and filled up alot of that time with reading books of my own choosing, taking pictures of stuff, and blogging.  It’s been an enjoyable way to waste time while telling myself that I was doing something productive.  Well, it was productive.  My well of creativity didn’t run dry and I constantly challenged myself.  So maybe it wasn’t such a waste of time after all.

My college notified me on Friday that I was finally approved for financial aid this year (I missed the entire fall semester because of some holdup regarding my imaginary farm that supposedly provides me a substantial income – it took the FAFSA folks 7 months to be convinced that I don’t have one, unless they count all the animals in my house…).  Because of the last-minute notice, I had lost my seat in one class but somehow, by pure magic and dumb luck, managed to grab the last seat in the last available class. 

It starts tomorrow.

My newest challenge is called Foundations of Financial Management.  I expect that, because of my absolutely mathtarded brain, the next 8 weeks of my life will be a virtual hell.  Not only do I not care about finance (including my own because, let’s face it, I have no money to manage…broke is broke and sometimes makes it easier for me to say No! to a new purse or book or lunch at Taco Bell.), but I’ll be taking this class online and responsible for pushing myself to show up on a discussion board and be enthusiastic. 

I think numbers are boring.  Probably because they make no sense to me. It’s like listening to someone you can’t stand talk about something you care nothing about and in a voice that sounds like nails on a chalkboard.  I shut down.  Numbers makes me cry.  Numbers makes me throw things across the room. 

Considering I will probably have little time to post a whole lot, I plan on keeping up with this blog as much as possible with photographs.  Those are simple enough and I always have my camera on hand. 

 Besides, sometimes a photograph is way more interesting than the story behind it.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Change of plans

  1. Chris says:

    Palmetto! (Prettier than palmetto bugs!)

    PS: Can I grow some stuff on your farm? I’m thinking imaginary corn would be a fantastic diet food.

Leave a Reply

