non-angry birds

photograph taken by Elle

Springtime finally showed up, but I have a feeling it’s only temporary.  I’ll take whatever I can get at this point.

All the rain in the last week (record amounts for the months of January and February) have certainly helped the animals that live outside.  Elle’s birdfeeder that she gave to my mother for Christmas has made alot of birds happy this month.  We have bluejays, cardinals, yellow finches, red-headed woodpeckers, and a red-winged blackbird.  This red-winged blackbird must be heading back north because, even if he was on his migratory path back to Wisconsin, he’s really, really lost.  But lost with a full belly.  You’re welcome, bird.

As far as the animals that live inside, we concluded that another result of the rain has been my dogs’ inability to go outside and do their business. Instead of being a dog, the dachshund scurries like a little girl under a tree to do his business.  This tree is clear across the other side of the backyard and when it’s raining outside, he gets just as soaked running to the dry patch as he would if he just did his thing two feet off the porch.  There is a pair of owls nesting in the tree that helps create this dry patch.  I found them the other night while shooing off a tomcat and thought I heard another tomcat.  Nope, it was the owl making some kind of meewing sound and calling back the other owl.  They both flew off together, one right after the other, and I noticed that they were both the size of a small child.  I also noticed that I had stepped in a hefty pile of dry patch dog crap.  Sigh.

It was worth it. 

I’m sitting in my bedroom listening to some trickling water coming from the other side of my open window.  I don’t want to get too excited, but it’s very possible that all this rain has given some running water back to the creek that splits our property from that of Crazy Rex who lives behind us.  We haven’t had water in this creek for eight years.

Time to put my snake-proof outdoorsy gear on a take a hike in the woods…this pretty much means that I’m just going to remove the flip flops from my shoe-hatin’ feet and pull on some socks and Nikes. 

If anything bites me, I’ll just scream for Crazy Rex to help me.  He’s got lots of weapons, I hear.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to non-angry birds

  1. Chris says:

    We have nesting owls nearby for the past 7 or 8 years. I like when they have the baby and he is learning to “speak”. They make a sound that I SWEAR sounds like it is crying out, “Maaaaaa!”

  2. Beth says:

    That’s such a great photo – you’ve got quite a little talent on your hands there!

    Bx

Leave a Reply

