On the way home tonight…

I couldn’t help it.  I pulled over and took pictures of the sunset over the marsh. This sight gave me a little more encouragement to trudge through the next few chilly weeks while the sun decides to stay in the sky a few minutes more each night. Finally, no more dreary treks home in the pitch black.

Nassau Sound

Honestly, I missed the ultimate sunset shot just minutes before I stopped for these shots when the sky was so unbelievably red.  Even the girls in my backseat were stunned into silence for about 3 seconds…yeah, silence, that was nice.

Anyway, there is a little bridge the spans over Nassau Sound directly in front of…get this…Reni’s Redneck Yacht Club. We have places like that ’round these here parts. No yachts…maybe some johnboats and a pontoon or two.  Mostly motorcycles.  But they’ve got the best views in the evening.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On the way home tonight…

  1. Doug says:

    Awesome. And beautiful. (The 3 seconds of silence IS included in this.)
    D.

  2. David Patterson says:

    Dena… beautiful sunset. Love the color gradient in the sky!

  3. Dena says:

    Thank you both! Pure dumb luck that I had nothing to do with! Just being at the right place at the right time.

Leave a Reply

