He’s lucky he didn’t get a McTicket

We have celebrities in my office building sometimes.  Last year, I got to meet Dominique Dawes (HUGE. FREAKIN’. DEAL!!!) and she was nice enough to sign an autograph for my daughter, the budding gymnast.  There have been other big ticket names (I only know they’re big ticket names because the tickets to hear them speak are atrociously expensive…) but I honestly can’t remember their names.  Is that bad?  I know a few of them have been authors who wrote books that didn’t apply to my life so I didn’t read them, political figures who run in the local or state government circles but can still draw a crowd, nuclear physicist smartypants-types who’ve won Nobel prizes, and Jenna Bush.  Oh, and those two African refugee brothers who ended up becoming doctors and going back to their home country to teach those doctors more modern skills and practices.  I liked those guys.  God, I’m bad with names.

Except Dominique Dawes. OH MY GAAAAWD, SHE HUGGED ME!

Anyway, to see a somewhat famous person or celebrity within the political or education realm isn’t unheard of.  But when I walked out of my office’s downstairs conference room this afternoon, I was surprised to see one of the most recognizable faces in the world come up right beside me.  He blew out of the ballroom conference in which he was the star speaker, strutted over to a table full of nice old ladies who tend to use our lobby for their own personal card room (euchre is what they play…we’ve asked), and proceeded to flirt with them until they became so overcome by his world-famous smile and offered him a seat and a hand to play.

It was Ronald McDonald.

I would have probably been less surprised to see Malcolm Gladwell, Dan Rather, or even President Obama.  But Ronald McDonald?  He has a spark about him, I must admit, and I couldn’t help but smile at the sight of him pulling up a chair and taking his place in the game. With his bright yellow jumpsuit and permasmile, Ronald was a crowd-pleaser.  Floppy shoes and all, that guy’s got a magnetic pull.  I couldn’t stop looking at him.  Partly because he’s such a colorful character, but mostly because WTF is Ronald McDonald doing here?

McDonald’s managers meeting, it turns out.

I headed back up to my desk and shared my story with a few coworkers who all pretty much said the same thing. WTF is Ronald McDonald doing here? About an hour later, I headed over to the campus to pick up some paperwork and run some deliveries.  And then guess what I saw??  Oh, that Ronald is just full of surprises!

By the time I left work for the day, Ronald McDonald was gone and so was his little McCar.  I’m sure it had been a long day for the guy, giving encouraging and motivational speeches and then running off to gamble with the old ladies outside the cafeteria.  It certainly put a smile on my face but I won’t be cruising through a McDonald’s drive-thru anytime soon.

Eeeeew…that’s McNasty.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

