a blog post in which I use an abnormal amount of adjectives to make up for my lack of wit and creativity

“Tortured artist, remember? Who can write when they’re happy?”

My friend Katy shared those words with me last night as she and I commiserated on our creativity wells having run dry. I don’t know about hers, but my creativity well is right now – at this moment! – just a big ol’ heaping pile of dry, dusty…oh, non-creativity.

I know, I know. But, did I not tell you? I got nothin’. And that is why I had to use all those adjectives.

My blog isn’t dead. I certainly don’t want it to die. It’s just that I have been off doing the one thing that seems to have taken away my creativity or, at the very least, has shifted my creativity to more important things other than this blog.

Oh, like being happy.

It was completely unexpected, this shift. And instead of using my creativity to splice my seeming unhappiness and frustration with the world in a public forum for all the interwebz to see and share, I’m actually learning how to merge a newfound happiness and patience with that of another human being who happens to be an incredible guy – an actual adult who doesn’t ask me to cut up his pizza with a fork and knife because he is not yet coordinated enough to do it on his own (I spend too much time with too many 4th graders).

 Yes. There is another person in my life. His name is Matt. He is wonderful*. He is funny. He is exceptionally patient (no, really – he’s won an award for being so exceptionally patient).

And he chose me. That is actually my favorite thing about him when it comes right down to it. I haven’t stopped smiling since.

P.S. I totally would cut up his pizza with a fork and knife if he asked me to.

*Also, I’m not the only one who thinks he’s so wonderful.  Read this blog post and pay special attention to #s 1, 3, and 11. See, he’s a keeper.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to a blog post in which I use an abnormal amount of adjectives to make up for my lack of wit and creativity

  1. ~Matt says:

    You’re pretty damn swell yourself and you make me very happy to boot!

    P.S. I enjoy being the other person in your life.

  2. Laura Lee says:

    aww…
    and the whole tortured artist thing… I don’t know why we do this to ourselves (and it is us) – just the other day I realized that it’s only when I’m working and time is crunching on me that I have those marvelous inspirations, whereas between projects, when I have all the time in the world, nada. go figure. good luck 🙂

  3. Chris says:

    I was supposed to win that award before Matt but there were some delays at the ceremony and I couldn’t wait around forever so I left! (ha!)

Leave a Reply

