Return of the Watermelon or How I Assured Myself Today That I’m a Very (Very, Very) Good Mom

It wasn’t a rainy day here in Jacksonville, but the kid was bored, it was a chilly 78 degrees today, and there was no sunshine.  I suspect most Floridians might call this phenomenon January or, possibly, the beginnings of Fall.

Elle decided she wanted to make some popsicles from a recipe she’d come across while surfin’ teh interwebz, unsupervised.  I can obviously trust my child online at this point if she has the whole worldwide web at her fingertips but is looking up popsicle recipes.  I’M A GOOD MOM. 

So, as I had conveniently acquired three free limes at work a few days ago and had half of a watermelon at my disposal, we figured we’d go for it.  By the way, the last encounter I had with a watermelon over 20 years ago ended in a bellyache and…well, let’s just say it was not a pleasant evening then and I can hardly stomach the scent of real watermelons now.  But I forced myself to get reacquainted with one today. SEE, I’M A VERY GOOD MOM.

oh, dear cats, it's a watermelon...

Watermelon Lime Popsicles
2 cups watermelon (and if your stomach starts to churn, give the kid an ice cream scooper and send her off to have her own go at it)
1/4 cup of Greek yogurt
2 tablespoons of honey
2 juiced limes (juice the hell out of them, at least to cover up the taste of that god awful watermelon – er, maybe that’s just me…)

send more limes, please

Basically, toss all that stuff in a blender, keep child’s hand OUT of the blender (I’M A VERY, VERY GOOD MOM) and pour the mixture into popsicle molds or ice cube trays and freeze for about 4-6 hours. 

I have to admit I took a bite out of one. Thank goodness for the overwhelming flavor of the lime juice or I just might be experiencing another watermelon incident from 20 years ago tonight and I really am in no mood for that. 

Suggestions
1. Watermelons are disgusting.  Use oranges instead!
2. If you absolutely must have watermelon and actually like watermelon, cut the lime juice. Maybe only use one lime instead of two.
3. Seriously, do not let your child’s hand near the blender, SWEET JAYSUS!

Elle still has two hands. I’M A VERY, VERY, VERY GOOD MOM! 

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Return of the Watermelon or How I Assured Myself Today That I’m a Very (Very, Very) Good Mom

  1. Chris says:

    I guess I’m a bad dad because I let Trevor use a MAPP gas torch to light coals for his smoker when he’s smoking bologna. Supervised and wearing gloves/glasses of course.

    I suppose you don’t care for watermelon Jolly Ranchers either, huh?

Leave a Reply

