Bears, oh my!

While cleaning out the garage and clearing storage bins of unwanted clutter, I found these – mine and Elle’s first teddy bears, respectively:

The one on the left is Bubble Gum.  He has a bell in his ear.  And yes, it still jingles. When I lived in Italy, I was in rollerskating classes and my coach’s daughter (one of the twins) gave me this teddy bear as a gift. I was enamored of this girl as she was a teenager and I was only five.  That makes Bubble Gum thirty years old this year.

The one on the right doesn’t have a name.  I brought her home before Elle was born and slept with the bear nightly so that my newborn would have the scent of familiarity in her crib when she was finally able to come home with me.  The pink bear smelled of baby powder and is still luxuriously soft.  Sadly, the stench of a humid Florida garage has seeped into her “fur” and she no longer smells of baby powder.  She just turned ten years old.

After an appropriate amount of time spent reminiscing, our two bears were carefully placed in storage bags, as opposed to being thrown into bins all willy-nilly like the last time, and taken back into the attic space above the garage.  I can’t bear to get rid of them just yet…no pun intended.

P.S. I still have my childhood blanket, too.  It has a name – the Bunny Blanket.  And no, I’m not getting rid of that anytime soon, either.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in the kid and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bears, oh my!

  1. ~Matt says:

    The scent of familiarity…nice touch.

    You could always wrap the Bunny Blanket around No-name and Bubble Gum for safe keeping! Why do I sound like a five year old?

  2. ~Matt says:

    Roger that.

Leave a Reply

