Today and Everyday

*******

This particular spot at Jacksonville National Cemetery caught my attention, not only because of the overwhelming display of flowers but because this gentleman passed away exactly one week ago.  I came back to it a second time and while I was crouched down examining all the flowers, Elle pointed out to me that this man’s name on the plastic tag matched the name on the gravemarker right next to it. 

Look closely at the dates on the gravemarker. Together again, father & son:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

******

I also found a few things around the house today, such as this photograph of my grandfather, my dad’s dad, playing with a very concerned looking dachshund on the streets of some town in Belgium:

 I’m not quite sure if this photo was taken before or after my grandfather was shot down in World War II (he was a tailgunner), but he did survive to return to America where he had three children and raised his family in Ohio and South Florida.  He died three months after I was born.

I never got to know my grandfather as a person, only as a memory through pictures, old war documents, and short stories told by relatives who still speak of him, all these years later. I also learned more about him through a museum in Pooler, Georgia dedicated to those who fought in World War II with the Mighty 8th Air Force – they actually have their very own museum. 

So to my grandfather, I say thank you. To my father, my brother, my uncles and great-uncle, to my friends who enlisted after high school, after college, and after September 11th…I say thank you. More than you will ever know.

 

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

