Oklahoma Road Trip: Day 1 (also known as The Day I Gave Up Control)

We just traversed half the country in less than two days.  We being Matt, Elle, and me.  The starting line was my house in Jacksonville, Florida.  After approximately 18 hours, the three of us pulled into Matt’s driveway in Oklahoma City.  Thankfully, the weather cooperated, at least in the sense that it didn’t rain at any single point.  The skies stayed every shade of gray you can imagine until, appropriately so, we crossed over the state line into Oklahoma with a balmy air temperature of 78 degrees (according to some gas station on the side of the interstate) and one of the most beautiful sunsets I’ve ever seen. Anyway, here’s a breakdown of what went down during those 1,100 or so miles in between our two cities…one day at a time, one state at a time.

(Day 1:  Florida through Tennessee.  Day 2: Arkansas through half of Oklahoma.)

Florida:  It was 5am and dark. Trucks, trees, and an interstate change in Lake City.  Nothing too exciting here, but because I’m more of a control freak than I ever realized before, I drove this leg of the trip.

Georgia: It’s mostly boring. The fall colors were pretty and we finally hit some hills south of Atlanta.  As soon as the Atlanta skyline came into view, motivation coursed through my veins and I insisted I continue driving.  Motivation replaced the control freak part of me.  Ha. Who am I kidding? It was just a good excuse to keep driving and remain in control.

Alabama: One word – mountains. Okay, one more word – altitude sickness? (okay, two more words) And these were not even real mountains, just the foothills. But I noticed something started to feel very, very wrong about my body.  My head felt compressed, my ears popped, and my stomach was in my throat.  Somewhere outside of Anniston is when I looked at Matt and admitted defeat.  Either I was going to vomit and drive (simultaneously) or I could relinquish control of my car, pop a Dramamine, and hope for the best.  He and I both agreed the latter was the best decision.  One pill later, I didn’t give a damn about anything.  And then I fell asleep.  THE END.

Mississippi: More mountains. Oh, Jesus, make them stop. Back to sleep. Obviously, Matt’s still driving.

(NOTE: I did take photos but Picassa won’t let me upload them. At least not anything until Memphis. That’s next!)

Tennessee: Matt drove us to our beautiful downtown Memphis hotel (which means I gave up control for at least 5 hours or so…I dunno, I was knocked the hell out on Dramamine). We checked into our hotel and went upstairs to our room.  After visiting the pool area and the gift shop, we went back to the room where I promptly fell asleep, again.  Dramamine is awesome.  At some point, Matt woke me up to tell me he was taking Elle to the pool.  Then I went back to sleep. After two hours (on top of the two-hour snooze I took in the car), I woke up somewhat refreshed and hungry. We ate. We went back to the room. We all fell asleep, again. A 12-hour drive will do that to you.

Memphis, I love you.

The next morning, the three of us sluggishly dragged ourselves from bed. After loading up the car, we headed down to Beale Street for some drive-by sightseeing and then over to Cockadoo’s for breakfast. Matt ordered a Memphis barbecue pulled-pork omelette and Elle chose the chocolate chip pancake loaded with whipped cream and, you guessed it, more chocolate chips.  I ordered nothing and instead ate off of everyone else’s plates.  The Memphis Omelette – delicious, though more on the “dinner” side of a meal.  The chocolate chip pancake – delicious, though more on the “dessert” side of a meal. I was just happy to be in such a fun restaurant with a good cup of coffee and my two favorite people at either side of me.

Tomorrow, Arkansas and Oklahoma.  I leave you now with some more of Memphis.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Florida, Jacksonville, Oklahoma, Oklahoma City, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oklahoma Road Trip: Day 1 (also known as The Day I Gave Up Control)

  1. Orel Engel says:

    Awesome article! It’s like I’m doing the road trip too!

  2. Pingback: Oklahoma Road Trip: Day 2 (also known as The Day I Fell In Love With Arkansas) « Two Girls and a Road

Leave a Reply

