This bread is bananas. B-A-N-A-N-A-S!

I feel like I should somewhat apologize for the blog post title, at least to some degree, but I won’t. Whenever I see a banana, smell a banana, or talk about a banana, I immediately think to myself, “Don’t let that song start up in here because it’ll never leave!”  and by then it’s already too late. B-A-N-A-N-A-S!

No apologies. Also, I don’t want to suffer alone with this song in my head.

Anyway, I’ve been singing and humming this song for the better part of a week.  I bought a bunch of bananas on Tuesday with the intention of letting them turn brown enough to put into a bread. I’m not a banana fan, at least not of its texture. I love the taste of bananas but I’m repulsed by the actual act of eating one.

That’s what banana bread is for.  You smash a banana, you add other stuff to it, and then you bake it. Voilà! It’s suddenly edible.

Chocolate Banana Bread with Chocolate Chips (original recipe is the Chocolate Banana Bread from Hershey’s Chocolate Treasury  – I only added chocolate chips.)

1 ½ cups unsifted all-purpose flour
½ cup unsweetened cocoa
2/3 cup sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
½ cups shortening
1 cup mashed ripe bananas (about 3 small or 2 large) B-A-N-A-N-A-S! (I’m so sorry!)
2 eggs (already beaten)
¾ cup of mini semi-sweet chocolate chips
powdered sugar

  • Combine flour, cocoa, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large mixing bowl.
  • Cut in the shortening until mixture resembles coarse crumbs (for some reason, this was a pain in the butt – just use your hands. It’s a lot easier!)
  • Add mashed bananas and eggs. Stir until just blended.
  • Add mini semi-sweet chocolate chips.
  • Pour into greased and floured 9 ¼ x 5 ¼ x 2 ¾-inch loaf pan.
  • Bake at 350* for 50-55 minutes or until cake tester comes out clean.
  • Cool for 10 minutes and remove from pan, then cool completely on wire rack.
  • Sprinkle with powdered sugar.

(Please allow me to show off one of my new measuring spoons…Ooooh! Aaaaah!)
MORE CHOCOLATE!
Elle had a friend over to play and I called them both into the kitchen to help me with the best part ever – LICKING THE BOWL! However, once they discovered the ooey-gooey chocolate mixture included bananas, they practically ran in the opposite direction. I’m not quite sure why they were so horrified by the thought of chocolate and bananas combined, but good on me as I got the last laugh and scraped that bowl clean. All by myself.

I love that there is something fundamentally childish about licking the bowl and all the mixing spoons we use when we bake. I always look forward to it. It’s one of the few activities from my childhood that I can still perform as an adult. One that thankfully doesn’t leave me resting with a heating pad to soothe the aches in whatever muscles I wrenched while trying to relive my youth by pulling some stupid stunt, like a cartwheel, sleeping the “wrong way”, or something else equally ridiculous and regrettable. As you can probably gather, I’ve done all of those before. Multiple times. So here’s to licking the bowl! It’s just safer.

Anyway, the smell of this bread baking in the oven reached every room in the house. It was heavenly! I had never made this before, only the Chocolate Chip Banana Bread from the same cookbook.  And I don’t believe in such a thing as too much chocolate, so I decided to include in this recipe my favorite ingredient from the first one, if only to enhance the chocolatey-ness.

In the end, I was quite pleased with the results.  The bread itself didn’t so much possess the texture of a standard banana bread, which in my experience is usually very moist. I was surprised by this one’s consistency, which was much more like that of chocolate cake. It was slightly drier than I expected and normally like to have in a banana bread, but the chocolate chips were a perfect complement to the flavor of the banana.  B-A-N-A-N-A-S! (Grrr….this song!)

A few tweaks and embellishments would really make this a perfectly rich indulgence. You could add more chocolate chips, maybe even so much as 1 ¼ cup, or make a chocolate glaze and drizzle it over the bread once it has cooled.  Again, I don’t believe in such a thing as too much chocolate.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in baking, food, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to This bread is bananas. B-A-N-A-N-A-S!

  1. Laura Lee says:

    love it! and your pics are FUN-tastic! your way is a yummier way to remember this song.

  2. Dena says:

    Thank you – it is a yummy bread! Though we’ve been referring to it as the cake/bread thing. I might just whip up a quick chocolate glaze to put over it. As far as the pictures, I can’t stop taking them! I’m having so much fun now…

  3. I love banana bread, but a chocolate banana bread is even better. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog till Monday night and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your banana bread up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2012/01/sweets-for-saturday-51.html

  4. Katy Jordan says:

    Still salivating over this the next morning…. I don’t know what the song is though – it was probably after my time or from some cartoon show I didn’t get in Podunk WV. 😉

  5. beti says:

    it looks pretty good, I love that it has lots of chocolate

  6. Pingback: Mini Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins | Two Girls and a Road

Leave a Reply

