Sister’s Creek

It is somewhat difficult to pull off to the side of a two-lane road that basically runs through a marsh.  Not only that, but it can be downright treacherous in certain places. The southern view from Heckscher Drive consists of waterfront homes that block the scenery and heavy river traffic, of boats and yachts and ferries shuttling back and forth in between downtown Jacksonville and the wide open waters of the Atlantic Ocean.  The northern view, where I spent a few hours yesterday at Sister’s Creek, is one of stillness and calm, of marshes and creeks and water birds that have found some solitude and nutrient-rich hunting grounds on just this side of the street.

Seriously, I couldn’t keep up with the number of birds I saw. There were blue herons, pelicans, great white egrets, and anhingas.  Each one is pretty beautiful and majestic in its own way, but have you ever noticed how big all of these creatures really are?  One blue heron happened to be nearby, unbeknownst to me, and took flight as soon as I rounded the corner on the floating dock.  He scared the life out of me and I was too stunned to take a picture of him flying away.  I guess instinctively knowing when a fantastic opportunity is staring at you (or flying away from you) is something I need to read up on. I pretty much blew that shot but I was a little busy picking my bottom jaw up off the ground.

(It all worked out though because, while I did spend an insanely ridiculous amount of time stalking this heron all around Sister’s Creek, I eventually got him while I was walking to my car and calling it quits for the day. Ha, I win!)

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Florida, Jacksonville, outdoors, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sister’s Creek

  1. Doug says:

    You live in some beautiful country.
    ’nuff said.

  2. Dena says:

    I know! This is the REAL Florida, none of that South Beach/Mickey Mouse nonsense here. Swamps, creeks, wildlife, and some very friendly fishermen who made sure to not stab me with their hooks as they cast out from the boardwalk. It’s a good place to live.

  3. Laura Lee says:

    Gorgeous! almost surreal…

Leave a Reply

