Cheaper by the Dozen

For years I have driven past this one house on Starratt Road, a white ranch home with a lush side yard full of vegetables and a front yard full of very cluckety chickens. The sign outside their property fence lets passersby know that all of their honey, eggs, and greens are for sale.  Being as I don’t know the people that live there, or even any of their neighbors for that matter, I have always been somewhat hesitant to pull into their driveway and just knock on their door asking for eggs.

This morning that all changed.  After I pulled a standard chicken egg from a carton I bought at the grocery store (I use those eggs for the baking) and pulled another free-range chicken egg from a carton I bought at the farmer’s market (I use those eggs for the good eatin’), I finally realized how much better looking the free-range chicken egg is, not to mention it is also significantly bigger than the standard egg.  I would prefer to eat only the free-range chicken egg from now on, if possible. The only concern is that the free-range chicken eggs cost quite a bit more – not only in dollars, but also in time spent driving to the market so I can buy them for $5.00.  (Please note:  I’m not stingy, I’m just unemployed.)

At last, today I resolved to meet the people that live in the white ranch house down the street and buy eggs from them. Now I could justify spending $5.00 on a dozen local eggs especially because I would be saving a 30-40 minute drive to Neptune Beach every Saturday afternoon.

I’m happy to report that my new egg supplier is less than 2 miles away and only charges $3.00 a dozen – handy egg carton included.  Isn’t that eggciting?  *snort* Ha! Sorry, I couldn’t help myself.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in baking, cooking, food, health, shopping and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cheaper by the Dozen

  1. ~Matt says:

    Who’d a thunk that eating local would be good, cheap, and *gasp* LOCAL!

    hehe

  2. Dena says:

    I want chickens!

  3. Laura Lee says:

    And the farm folks don’t take food stamps ;oP but I had a similar eggs-perience (I couldn’t resist either!) wherein I drove way out for a homegrown dozen anytime I could come up with the money, and I saved cartons from my food stamp egg purchases to leave at the farm since that is an expense for them.

    Long live Galiforms!! (chickens)

Leave a Reply

