Colorful Eggs

I never thought I would be the kind of person who gets excited about eggs. Is there a kind of person who gets excited about eggs?

These kind of reminded me of Easter eggs. They’re so beautiful and colorful! I picked them up on Monday from a man down the road who also sells honey.  His wife sold me the first dozen fresh eggs I’d ever bought (outside of the farmer’s market, but this place down the road isn’t a farm).  However, on this day, the man was outside waiting for me with a dozen eggs already picked up and packaged and he was covered in bees.  Wherever he went, they followed.

I don’t know a thing about bees or about making honey (Full Moon Farm will offer tours of their property sometime this spring and I plan on going!) but I think it would be fascinating to see it in action, even just a single step of the process.  I just wasn’t expecting to be introduced to a swarm so quickly, or unexpectedly.  And, to nobody’s surprise, Elle ran back to the car and refused to come out.  She got a little squirrely when I had to open the driver’s side door to get back into my seat. This is about the time I learned she is not a big fan of bees – just their honey.

Anyway, I had a nice hearty breakfast this morning, thanks to these gorgeous eggs.  I simply couldn’t help myself after having cleaned them off (remember, the almost-salmonella incident? Make fun of me all you want – I never said I was rational). A little homemade elderberry jelly from a friend’s care package from Pittsburgh and a crispy slice of bacon made my tummy very happy today.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in community, cooking, food, Jacksonville, people and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

