A Year in the Life of a Red Maple Tree

This winter has undoubtedly been confusing, not just for the people but for the plants and animals, too.  The warm weather threw a few things off course from their natural cycle, most notably my red maple tree. Living in a constant state of springtime, the tree broke into winter a few weeks late and then not too long after had to break into spring.  It was only doing what it felt was natural.

Little did I know that when I snapped a photograph yesterday of my red maple’s new green leaves that I was documenting a full cycle of change – in pictures.

Beginning in March of last year through yesterday, here are a few photos I’ve kept (and most have been posted on this blog) and put together to see in one place. Keep in mind that the first photograph represents the red maple through the remainder of the year until the big changes start back up in late fall. Unfortunately, the red leaves never emerged and I am so disappointed to not have that photograph. I would apologize but Mother Nature is kind of in charge of these things and having my red maple skip the most magnificent change of all just emphasizes how unpredictable winter was this year but how beautiful the tree is during all the other changes we probably overlook throughout the year.

March, 2011
mid-December, 2011
mid-January, 2012
late January, 2012 (only ten days later)
mid-February, 2012
early March, 2012 (yesterday and a full year later)

 

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in flora and fauna, Florida, outdoors, photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Year in the Life of a Red Maple Tree

  1. What a great photo-story!

  2. I had no idea maples grew in FL. I thought it was too tropical. Even if it never turned red, it’s a beauty! Your comment about the toxicity of ground cherries to dogs is greatly appreciated!! Mine are cute but not that smart and I wouldn’t put it past them to chomp a cherry. THANK YOU!!!! :o)

    • Dena says:

      This was a tiny little sapling gift from a neighbor years ago. I just love it! I got confused even when the leaves failed to turn red and went straight to blossoming for spring. A friend had to assure me that I missed nothing (seriously, how do you NOT notice a blazing red maple!?) and that all red maples he knew had failed to produce. Aaaah, oh well. Next year, next year!

  3. also meant to add….i love your new picture in the blog heading, too!

    • Dena says:

      Thanks! I took that a few months ago in Amelia Island at the beach. I try to change it up every few weeks. I just came back from a butterfly exhibit this afternoon and I’ll probably post a few photographs 🙂

  4. Jenny says:

    It’s so amazing to see leaves on a red maple in January!! Mind = blown. Happy spring!

Leave a Reply

