Flooded Pots

It seems to have rained so much during the past week that I am wholly convinced the skies were just waiting for me to plant my seeds before supplying us with an ample amount of moisture. If that’s the case, thanks! But it probably isn’t the case and I’m okay with that.

flooded thyme pot Right away, though, I noticed my chocolate mint wasn’t doing so well. It was expected to suffer from some moments of overwatering, just like the peppermint and thyme which are in the same kind of pots, but a good inch to inch-and-a-half of standing water was just ridiculous. On practically any given day I could tip over the chocolate mint and allow a good amount of water to pour out of the soil. The gardener I spoke with when I bought these herbs assured me that ceramic was the way to go (as opposed to clay or terracotta which will absorb the water intended for the plant) but that I should, of course, be careful to not overwater.  And I did just that. Except out in the open with a natural (translation: uncontrolled) watering of rain, two out of three herbs started to drown.

I moved the chocolate mint last week as part of my planned layout in Box 1. It is doing so much better in the ground (which was evident just hours after replanting it)! I found the thyme yesterday flooded out and decided to put it in the ground next to the chocolate mint this morning.  Before that, however, I had to squeeze the water out of the rootball. Once the thyme was planted, I cleaned out the ceramic pot quickly since the smell of rot almost knocked me off my feet.

chocolate mint & thyme

Ceramic pots? Pretty and useless, unless you’re a peppermint. The peppermint LOVES being in a ceramic pot.

**********

My cat, Polly, kept me company for the few minutes I was outside.  I could hear her squawking out some kind of conversation starters (Polly is very chatty) to which I responded by picking her up and cuddling with her because I’m super grabby that way.  By the end of our garden time together, she had climbed up a pole – probably in a desperate attempt to avoid my grabbiness. I think Polly just barely tolerates me.

Polly

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in animals, gardening, outdoors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flooded Pots

  1. Lee I says:

    This kitty just looks like she’s helping. Or perhaps supervising.

Leave a Reply

