Piglets of Another Kind

Last year, I was lucky enough to catch this shot of a mama warthog feeding her babies. Warthogs are not the most attractive animals and these little guys are often passed up by children and their parents in a mad rush to get a little further down the walkway to see the rhinos and the elephants.  See what you miss, people?

  nursing

warthog babies!

oh, that piglet's face just makes my heart melt

When I went back last week, I stopped by to say hello to Jacksonville’s resident warthogs, Tony and his mate, who for some reason I believe is called Nana (which is what Elle calls my mother instead of grandma and I think that’s hilarious). It took me a few minutes to realize that all those warthogs were the babies from last year! A nice couple standing next to me had plenty to say about the unappealing looks of the warthogs (they’re so ugly, they’re cute!) and wondered aloud if they were all a family. They were thrilled to learn that I had photographed this very group a year earlier, nursing from their mother.

Suddenly, the warthogs became very cute, even though they’re all grown up now.

the babies have grown!

babies, all grown up

growing up!

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in animals, conservation, Jacksonville, life, nature, outdoors, photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Piglets of Another Kind

  1. Animals don’t judge us by our appearances! Why do we have to judge them? I heard many people at the shelter say they couldn’t take home a certain pet because they weren’t cute enough. But the dogs never complained that the humans walking through weren’t cute enough for them! GAR! Dumb people need to be walkin’ the plank!!

    • Dena says:

      I never thought of it that way. That just makes me want to hug my dog a little tighter (as if I don’t harass him enough with affection).

  2. ashaldaron says:

    I think they are adorable. I can’t think of any baby animals athat aren’t cute.

Leave a Reply

