Smiling’s My Favorite

A few weeks ago, I spent about 48 hours of my life tremendously frustrated with things and circumstances and people over which I have no control. Many people would consider that to be a time sucker, a drainer of energy, and I would agree, but it is likely a part of my biological makeup. So I took a walk.  Well, I took a drive and then I took a walk, but really I had no idea where to go.

I found myself at the dock of the Trout River. I find water to be very peaceful, so I enjoyed the quiet atmosphere for a few minutes before heading back to the wooden gazebo. And as soon as I sat down on one of the wooden benches, I noticed this, staring right at me:

  happy face

The whole time this inanimate object was smiling at me. It was difficult to focus on anything else after I noticed it, probably because I was in no mood for happy stuff. I wanted to be angry and stay angry. But I didn’t.  I couldn’t. How could I after seeing such a happy face?

Oh, don’t get me wrong. I was still plenty frustrated with all the things I cannot control for another day or so, but this little coin-operated binocular stand helped to set me straight by not even saying a word. All it did was offer a smile.

Things have since returned to their natural order, but at least now I am armed with this little spirit-lifting photograph. When a Big Freakin’ Deal in my life took an unexpected turn again this week*, I sulked for a few hours, vented with curse words, and moved on. I’m learning, albeit a little late, that the only things I have any control over are trying to fix the wrongs and giving people the benefit of the doubt, even if they sometimes don’t deserve it. This doesn’t mean I will allow myself to be trampled upon, but it does mean learning to adapt and roll with the punches…with patience.

*And these last few months have been nothing if not a test of my patience. I promise all will be told in due time.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Florida, happiness, health, life, nature, outdoors, photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Smiling’s My Favorite

  1. Pingback: Blogging Matters! « maggieseverythingblog

Leave a Reply

