Experiment with Lavender

The garden took a beating last week with the furious rains that passed through (a Sou’Easter, the meteorologist called it…a strange word).  Some of my lavender got pummeled, so for fun I decided to play with the pieces that didn’t survive. I had a small, empty canning jar that had been filled with Hershey’s Kisses (at least, until the Stress-O-Rama of last weekend took over the better part of me and made me eat them all) but was otherwise sitting around being useless.

I put some of the lavender into the jar one morning, sealed it up tight, and placed it in my car for the entire afternoon. When I headed out to pick up Elle from school, I opened the jar and broke the lavender into bits and pieces. And then I left the jar in my cup holder, opened in order to unleash the lavender scent all throughout my car! It smells heavenly.

lavender

I swear, I could happily live in a field full of this stuff.

experimenting with lavender

sealing in the fragrance!

The scent isn’t overpowering, but it is enough of a fragrance to make one notice…hmm, something in here smells really good! I don’t have a whole lot of lavender to play with so it’s unlikely that I’ll continue to do this or to do it very often. When I do try it again, I’ll certainly include more than one sprig and probably throw in some of my mint leaves, too.  Oooh, a new experiment?  No lavender…just mint? I’ll have to try that soon!

The fresh lavender scent is a welcome change from the usual car fresheners that seem to be overwhelming for the first few days. And I can seal it back up again whenever I decide I don’t want to smell the lavender fragrance which, so far, hasn’t happened.

BONUS: The canning jar conveniently fits in my cup holder.

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in flora and fauna, gardening, happiness, herbs, nature and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Experiment with Lavender

  1. mountainmae says:

    Lavender fragrance is so long lasting- I was surprised to find out that the leaves are almost as fragrant as the flowers. My wide-mouth canning jar sits in the cup holder between the seats and is my dog’s water-bowl.

    • Dena says:

      Hey, that’s not a bad idea! The fragrance only lasted for about two days, but I still have it in my car and shake it up for sniff (I guess I’m tricking myself into believing it’s still potent!).

  2. Lee I says:

    I thought of mentioning this when I first read this, but …. I left a few sprigs of lavender on my car dash, well, the radio, actually. They dried out and the tiny blossoms fell off and I just left them there. I discovered I could get a fresh burst of lavender scent by just tapping on them. Not only that, I think that sharp scent keeps me awake if I’m getting drowsy at the wheel. They stayed there until I had a professional car wash (had to drive members of my nephew’s wedding party) and the cleaning guys removed them. Waiting for lavender season again.

    • Dena says:

      You had mentioned it before! I knew you’d left something similar in a comment earlier but I couldn’t find it to give you props 🙂 Because of your idea, I thought I’d throw some in a jar and see how that worked!

Leave a Reply

