Bloomin’

Remember that gardening geek spreadsheet? Well, it was right!

Seed: Nasturtium (from Southern Exposure Seed Exchange), jewel mix colors – edible
Plant date: March 1st
Blossom date: 30-40 days, mid- to late-April

And since so many of you were interested in getting a peek at it, here you go. Prepare to be mesmerized!

garden spreadsheet

I know it's hard to read but if you'd like, click on this photo, then right click on the Flickr photo, and select view size "large". Have at it!

What? Oh, you’re not mesmerized? It’s okay.

Anyway, these things, these nasturtium plants and their leaves, have nearly taken over the center of my second raised garden bed. My poor celosias were getting crowded out and had to be moved; I know at least one of them is doing well while the other is still barely hanging on. The verbena was dying (not getting enough sunshine?), so that was moved, as well.  The sweet pea seedlings are growing like they’ve been given hormones and steroids (seriously, I wasn’t prepared and ended up creating a makeshift trellis out of broken tree branches) but one thing at a time – because right now, right on schedule, the nasturtium is blooming!

nasturtium blooming!

Day 1 - waiting to open

nasturtium

Day 1 - getting there!

day 2 nasturtium blooms

Day 2 - hurried along by the deluge of rain

We’re in the second week now and more blooms are still to come.

IMGP3688

Day 8

new nasturtium bloom

more to come!

I should really look into when these things are safe to eat, which I believe is whenever…, nothing like the ground cherries (toxic illness, anyone?). I have another pathetic, undersized Juliet tomato ripening as we speak (!!!!) and a lot of lettuce. Perhaps a nasturtium salad is in order soon?

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in flora and fauna, food, gardening, happiness, nature, outdoors, photography, spring and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Bloomin’

  1. Great post. Nasturiums are some of my favorites. Mine are not up yet since in my climate it is still too cold. I hear you can eat the leaves and the flowers. I have seen pictures of salads made with the flowers, They are supposed to taste peppery..who knows? I myself am not that hungry…if you try eating them…let me know. I am rather curious myself. Thanks for the enjoyable article. 🙂

  2. Ooh I do love a good spreadsheet. Especially when they increase productivity and clarity of understanding. Geekdom is the best way to be! 🙂

    • Dena says:

      I’m more of a checklist girl – but whenever I got bored at my former job, I’d make spreadsheets. It’s like purging your brain of information for which there just isn’t room!

      Maybe I like spreadsheets for tracking progress and checklists for accomplishment purposes. Too much thinking…

  3. Kristi says:

    I’m not sure you held out long enough on the chocolate mint. After living in my car for a week, then getting left out on the back porch (in sub-freezing temperatures), it finally got repotted. It looked dismal for about a week, and is now producing tons of leaves and trying to climb down my ironing board.

    • Dena says:

      Uh oh, now I’m wondering who gave up first: the chocomint or me. Maybe I drowned it? I don’t know. Happy to know yours is doing so well!

      • Kristi says:

        It might also help that Jeff plays the guitar for it, I don’t know. I nibbled a leaf the other day, but I’m still waiting a bit longer before making chocolate mint mojitos.

      • Dena says:

        Sounds yummy. Matt has been using his orange mint leaves to make sidecars. This makes him happy and having him mix up for me a mojito with my thriving mint will make me happy.

  4. Hey Dena, I found a chocolate mint half price at one of the big box home improvement stores. I have no idea what to do with it. Also, I’m growing nasturtium seeds for the first time and they need to be planted somewhere. Are you saying I need to put them where they can sprawl? When are you going to check your messages at Blotanical?

    • Dena says:

      Chocolate Mint: I put mine in a ceramic pot with no drainage and the root ball rotted out. Then I ended up putting it in the ground hoping to bring it back to life and I don’t think that worked! Though my friend Kristi seems to have a superchocomint.

      Nasturtium – it reminds me of lilypads, very tendril-like and leafy! But the leaves tend to sprawl (not supported, very loose) so they will work well for ground cover if you have a few bald spots. I’d say give each plant about 1-2 feet for full growth sprawl.

      Blotanical – I’m going now!

    • Dena says:

      Also, the chocolate mint will need as much room as any other mint…their roots are kind of crazy. If you pot it, make sure it has drainage! If you plant it in the ground, should be okay, too! I have a strawberry plant that gets really sad when it needs to be watered – I use that to gauge my watering days! I’m totally wingin’ it here.

  5. Shoud visit your garden of eden one day! Hehehe

  6. Pingback: The Petunia Bandwagon | Two Girls and a Road

Leave a Reply

