At the Beach

A few years ago, I discovered how healing and calming the beach really is. At least, this is how it is for me. I know plenty of people who balk at the idea of lugging beach chairs and towels to the shore or of getting sand in places sand should never be.  This is not something that bothers me.

I’m fairly unfussy when it comes to beach gear. I have a little car with a good-sized trunk. In it goes a beach chair and, if the kid and her friends accompany me, a few bodyboards get thrown in, as well. But this time, I was alone. So a beach chair, a towel, and a book were the only items that needed to be packed.

My destination: the last remaining beach in the city that still allows cars to drive along the shore line.  It is sea turtle nesting season, after all, so there is much care taken by park officials in roping off any discovered nests. Again, these people do a fantastic job so this is also not something that bothers me.

After pulling into a space reasonably distanced from other beachgoers, I unpacked my beach chair, threw on my big, floppy sun hat, and enjoyed the sounds of the waves and the tingle of the sun on my skin.

100_4483

curious gull

the curious seagull

baby sand dollar!

it’s a baby!

100_4493

“Are you feeling, feeling, feeling like I’m, feeling
Like I’m floating, floating, up above that big blue ocean
Sand beneath our feet, big blue sky above our heads,
No need to keep stressing from our everyday life on our minds
We have got to leave all that behind”

-At the beach, The Avett brothers

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in animals, Florida, Florida wildlife, happiness, health, Jacksonville, nature, outdoors, the beach and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to At the Beach

  1. Maria Zarif says:

    Oh I do know how you feel! I was once alone sitting and listening to the sound of the waves while letting the sand run through my hands, when a guy came to me and was like:” Are you sad?” Hehe I goes being lonely means being sad?

  2. mariawriter says:

    There is something very calming and relaxing about being by a beach, there always seems so much space too. I find beaches a good place to think if I need to. I’m not a fan of sand or sunbathing, but I do love being by the sea. My favourite beach in England is in Brighton, I love being on the seafront, and it isn’t sandy, it’s a pebble beach. Quite uncomfortable at times but at least you don’t find sand everywhere once you’ve left, hehe

    • Dena says:

      I’ve been to a beach on Lake Superior in Marquette, Michigan that had rocks instead of sand. It’s definitely different from what I’m used to 🙂

  3. I adore the beach and I feel so blessed now that there’s one five minutes from my house.

    Years ago a riding instructor told me that horses get a bit crazed on the sand – they experience a sudden burst of giddiness because they feel more free at the beach. I think that sums it up nicely 🙂

  4. David Patterson says:

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

