Flower Power: Gerbera Daisies

It’s becoming quite difficult for me to pass up an opportunity to care for more flowers. Especially because the school semester is over and free time has become plentiful. There are only so many walks around the neighborhood the dachshund will tolerate. There are only so many weeds that need to be pulled from the garden. There are only so many rooms in this house that need vacuuming.

I know, poor me.

Anyway, last week I talked my mother into taking a trip to the local plant nursery so she could “dress up” an area in front of the garage. She ended up going home with three society garlics which I ended up planting for her (so pretty, but the roots are super stinky – good thing they stay underground) and Elle fell in love with a particular shade of a Gerbera daisy. I’m more of a fan of bright colors in the garden, but I figured why not?

I’m happy to say…yep, I’m definitely a fan. They’ve become a favorite in the garden.

gerber daisy

Untitled

gerber daisy

Gerbera Daisy

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in flora and fauna, flowers, gardening, nature and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Flower Power: Gerbera Daisies

  1. hs says:

    so beautiful – nice photos

  2. Your Mom will smell that Society Garlic even when she walks by it. I’m not a fan because of the, ah, fragrance. Love Elle’s choice of colors.

  3. Lee I says:

    Ah, that’s what you call them. I love those.

  4. Gerberas are faves of mine, too! Seeing them reminds me, I need a trip to the nursery at home depot! I have a gift card with some money left on it, and flowers might be the perfect thing to buy! 😉

    • Dena says:

      Ha, whenever I get the urge to spend money, I go to the nursery. It is cheaper than any other things I could possibly spoil myself with.

Leave a Reply

