Wish Making

Remember being a kid and coming upon a patch of fuzzy dandelions in your yard? I could never keep my hands from plucking them from the ground. After rubbing my cheek with the fuzzies, I would take a deep breath, make a wish, and blow out as hard and as purposefully as I could, just to watch the dandelion fuzz float through the air.  Then I would usually get yelled at because I’d just spread weeds all over the place.

How was I to know? Dandelion fuzz was so much fun. In fact, I still think it is! So imagine my delight when I found this in my garden:

gerbera daisy

before wish-making

I tried my hardest to stay away from the Gerbera daisy fuzz, to not huff and puff these things all over the garden. I even walked away for a few minutes. Gerbera daisy fuzz is not only softer than dandelion fuzz, but there’s more of it.  MOAR! The temptation was unbearable.

ending cycle

after wish-making (this required more than just one huff and puff)

Self-control is something I have very little of. Especially when it comes to doing something that reminds me of being a kid again. Sledding, sleepovers, making s’mores, and blowing dandelion fuzz. Except this time, I felt like I had graduated up to blowing Gerbera daisy fuzz, which is much more adult-like.

Nobody was around to yell at me for doing such a thing. Also, it’s my garden. If I find myself overwhelmed and being taken over by an army of Gerbera daisies, I’ll consider myself lucky.

(I mentioned last week a little something about making big, big wishes. Perhaps those are the kinds of wishes that must be made on big, big flowers.)

About Dena

I'm a suburban Clevelander by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in flora and fauna, flowers, gardening, happiness, nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wish Making

  1. yashikibuta says:

    Hi! Check out my latest post. I just nominated you for A Lovely Blog award and Very Inspiring Blogger award 🙂

  2. Lee I says:

    Things could be a lot worse than having a whole yard full of Gerbera! 🙂

Leave a Reply

