Ludowe

This change in status (from “single” to “married”) leaves me unable to continue writing on Two Girls and a Road because it is no longer just us two girls.

We have been thinking for a while about what to call the new blog that would include all of us:
lokahoma (taken)
chokeallama (had the web address and gave it up – don’t blame me for choking llamas)
Two Girls and a Beard (that could be misunderstood…and what if there are more of us one day?)
Grab Root (after my Dust Bowl whimsies, I learned it really means to sit down and eat, not to hold on tightly)
Oklahoma Sweet Home (what if Oklahoma isn’t home?)

I need to break away from the singleness (from singlehood to single parenting) that was (to me) Two Girls and a Road. Elle and I are no longer adventuring alone. This makes me very, very happy and wanting for a new start.

I decided to go with a simple theme, something that could follow us anywhere no matter how many of us there are and no matter where we all may be. Honestly, Oklahoma reminds me of the word folk. It’s a good word that represents good people. It also represents the ways and stories of good people. These are all things I enjoy learning about and sharing with others, whether they live down the road or on the other side of the world.

Ludowe is the Polish word, my people’s word, for folk. I don’t speak the language, but just like the English translation, ludowe is a good word. Ludowe is also where I will be writing from now on.  Two Girls and a Road is over.

It is time for a new road.

About Dena

I'm a New Hampshirite by way of suburban Cleveland, by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of home and place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ludowe

  1. chrisharati says:

    Why not simply: Two Girls a Guy and a Road”

Leave a comment