Cover Art

Elle was so proud of herself yesterday.  She drew a picture that was approved to be the front cover photo of one of my office’s books.  The book is a first-grade Reader’s Response packet.  One hundred copies of the book are being sent to the Petersburg, Virginia area tomorrow where my executive director’s sister is a teacher. 

My girl, a 3rd grader, was so excited about making the cover that she took her copy of the book to school for Show & Tell today.  During the morning class break, she showed it to a few of her classmates.  I’m sure she expected an “Oh, cool!” and “That’s so neat, Elle!” but that’s not what she got.  I don’t think she had a clue what she was about to get.

That’s your workbook.  You have a first-grade workbook because you’re stupid.

Why do you have a first-grade book?   Haha, you have a learning disability!

First-grade workbook?  What are you, a baby?

Her teacher called her up to the front of the class this afternoon to present her book for Show & Tell and Elle refused to do it.  She’d been laughed at enough this morning and decided she wasn’t going to participate in Show & Tell. 

“Elle, didn’t you explain to them that it was just your artwork they used for the cover?”

“Yes!  They didn’t believe me!  Then they started telling all the kids that I have a learning disability and I have use a first-grader’s workbook!”

And she cried.  And cried and cried and cried.  I didn’t know what to do so I bought her a donut and told her that sometimes kids don’t know how to be proud of their friends and classmates so instead they decide to be jealous.  I promised that I would type up an official letter from my office thanking Elle for her contribution to the book and have someone sign it, make it all important looking. 

“Maybe you can try again next week and just read exactly what the letter says.  If anyone makes fun of you again, you show them that official letter from my office.”

She said okay, she’ll try again next week. 

Until then, I can only support her and encourage her to tell those other kids to shove off.  Besides, she’s a nationally published illustrator now and she’s got more important things to think about.  Like being proud of herself.

I made the cover, Mom!

About Dena

I'm a New Hampshirite by way of suburban Cleveland, by way of Oklahoma City, by way of North Florida, by way of Southern Maryland, by way of Upper Michigan, by way of Northern Italy, by way of Lower Michigan, by way of Texas. Because of living in so many places, I have something in common with almost everyone I meet. I love reading, writing, and American history (especially reading or writing about American history). I'm interested in culture of home and place, historical trauma, and writing about the kinds of histories most people don't know about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cover Art

  1. Chris says:

    That makes me want to kick some third grade ass.

  2. Dena says:

    Me, too. 😦

Leave a comment